Prevention Providers Certification And Information

Prevention providers are mandated to become certified in prevention. There are three stages of certifications: Associate Prevention Specialist (APS), Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS) and Certified Prevention Specialist Supervisor (CPSS). The certification process encompasses education and training in six domains provided by the International Certification and Reciprocity Consortium (IC&RC) as well as work experience in the field of substance abuse prevention.

Funded by BHDDH, the Rhode Island Prevention Certification Study Guide is a 96-page interactive guide which was developed by BHDDH and the Rhode Island Prevention Resource Center in collaboration with the Educational Development Center in Waltham, Massachusetts.

Visit for more information on the certification process.

Applications for Certification

Advanced Certified Prevention Specialist (ACPS)

Associate Prevention Specialist (APS)

  • Available to newer prevention specialists wanting to begin the process of working toward full certification.
  • APS Application

Certified Prevention Specialist (CPS)

Rhode Island Prevention Resource Center (RIPRC)

On the RIPRC website,, you can:

  • find a wide range of prevention resources
  • learn about upcoming trainings and webinars
  • discover potential partners or prevention organizations in your area
  • read about successful initiatives in your community, State and throughout the U.S.