Official State of Rhode Island website
Get the latest information about Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) on our resource page
Rhode Island renters struggling to cover rent and utility payments due to COVID may qualify for up to 18 months of emergency assistance thanks to the new federal relief aid. This program is only for renters and their landlords.
Rhode Island has received $200 million in rent relief funds from the federal Emergency Rental Assistance (ERA) Program. This program will provide rental and utility relief payments to help eligible renters maintain housing stability. The Program can pay for rent and some utilities owed back to April 1, 2020. It will also cover the security deposit and up to three months of upcoming rent. Utilities include electricity, water, trash, and heat. You may apply for help with paying for utilities even if you do not need help paying for rent. Applicants are eligible for up to a total of 18 months of assistance.
Please note that you do not have to be unemployment to qualify. As long as you can show a COVID-related need and meet the income requirements you may qualify for this program, regardless if you are employed or not.
For more information, please visit www.RentReliefRI.com or call 1-855-608-8756.
A recent study on youth behavior revealed almost 59% of alcohol users aged 18-20 in Rhode Island report receiving alcohol from a friend or relative who is over the age of 21. Among the youth surveyed, 35 percent report obtaining their alcohol from a parent or guardian.
Rhode Island is one of more than 40 states that maintains a Social Host Law. The law makes it illegal to buy, provide, and supply alcohol, or provide a place to consume alcohol to anyone under the age of 21. This means adults are held responsible even if they don’t know youth are consuming alcohol on their property. Consequences of breaking this law include fines up to $1,000, a prison sentence of six months for first time offenders, and mandatory, approved educational programs.
Underage alcohol use harms the health of underage youth, impacting brain development and decision making skills. To support the health and safety of their communities, six Rhode Island Prevention Coalitions have collaborated to launch 'Rhode Rules' for Rhode Island, a public awareness campaign to educate and inform Rhode Island residents about the Social Host Law.
Rhode Island has had a Good Samaritan Law for a few years.
That means, if you witness an overdose and call 911, Rhode Island’s Good Samaritan Law protects YOU. See the flyer here and if you are able, print and post to get the word out!
Rhode Island’s Buprenorphine Hotline is for people with moderate to severe opioid use disorder (OUD).
The Buprenorphine Hotline – 401.606.5456 -- offers 24-hour telehealth access for patients who are seeking initiation of buprenorphine (also referred to as Suboxone®) treatment. This hotline gives people the opportunity to get a health assessment by a Drug Addiction Treatment Act of 2000 (DATA 2000) waivered healthcare provider, a prescription for buprenorphine for unobserved home induction (if appropriate), and linkage to a Rhode Island Center of Excellence or office-based buprenorphine provider for maintenance treatment.
The hotline is being managed through a partnership between Brown Emergency Medicine, Lifespan Recovery Center, and the Rhode Island Hospital Center for Primary Care Recovery Clinic, with support from the Rhode Island Department of Health (RIDOH) and the Rhode Island Department of Behavioral Health, Developmental Disabilities, and Hospitals (BHDDH).
For more information about recovery, harm reduction, and treatment resources available during the COVID-19 pandemic, go to PreventOverdoseRI.org’s COVID-19 webpage or download this printable flyer.
This Guidebook provides a roadmap to help 14 – 25 year old's in navigating the sometimes complex system of behavioral healthcare services. There are many resources listed to guide you, should you need them. "Take Charge of Your Behavioral Health: A Guide for Transition Aged Youth (TAY) in Rhode Island," recently revised August 2021, was created for youth and young adults with a great deal of community input.
Each page was designed to stand alone so you can download and print the entire document or just select those pages of interest to you.
Hard copies of the previous version of the Guidebook are currently available and free of charge. For more information, contact Denise Achin at 401-462-0421 or by email at [email protected].
Click here for the Visitor Policy at Eleanor Slater Hospital.
Thanks to the Blackstone Valley Prevention Coalition for creating this informative guide!
Alcohol Licensee Guide: An Overview of Underage Drinking, RI Laws, and Responsible Alcohol Sales
In partnership with RI Quality Institute, BHDDH maintains ribhopenbeds.org to provide public information about bed availability for mental health and substance use disorder services.
The goal of the RI Behavioral Health Open Beds (RI BHOB) system is to efficiently collect and distribute bed availability information, reduce patient delays in accessing appropriate emergency, provide crisis stabilization, and recovery services. Currently, RI BHOB is the only way to view Recovery House bed availability and Substance Use Residential Treatment bed availability electronically.
Visit RI BHOB to view available beds at RI's facilities at ribhopenbeds.org
The new 2020 America's Health Rankings were recently released from the United Health Foundation. There are measures for behavioral healthcare included in these rankings and Rhode Island remained in the #3 spot with the third lowest suicide rate in the country at 9.8 per 100,000 and the U.S. rate was 14.8. https://tinyurl.com/rirank.
Rhode Island's Teen Suicide rate remains the lowest in the nation for the 4th year in a row with the ranking at 5.0 per 100,000. https://www.americashealthrankings.org/explore/health-of-women-and-children/measure/teen_suicide/state/RI
Use this interactive map to find a mental health and/or substance use provider in Rhode Island.